New measures to drastically strengthen border measures

1. Continual review of areas subject to the entry ban

Enabling entry ban measures to be applied comprehensively to the Republic of Korea (hereinafter referred to as "ROK") and the Islamic Republic of Iran (hereinafter referred to as "Iran"), and designating additional areas listed below* of these countries as areas subject to the entry ban.

*RoK: Gyeongsangbuk-do (7 cities and counties: Gyeongsan, Andong, Yeongcheon, Chilgok, Uiseong, Seongju, and Gunwi)

*Iran: Qom Province, Tehran Province, and Gilan Province

2. Strengthened quarantine

Calling upon people arriving from China (including Hong Kong and Macau, the same applies hereinafter) and the ROK to wait 14 days at a location designated by the quarantine station chief and to refrain from using public transportation.

- 3. Restriction on airports/ports for arrival from China or the ROK
- (1) Aircraft: restricting arrival airports for passenger flights from China or the ROK to Narita International Airport and Kansai International Airport only (requesting the airlines concerned to conform this restriction)
- (2) Ship: suspending passenger transportation departing from China or the ROK (requesting related companies to conform this suspension)

4. Visa restrictions

- (1) Suspending validity of single or multiple-entry visa issued by Japanese Embassies or Consulates General in China or the ROK
- (2) Suspending visa exemption measures for Hong Kong and Macau, and the ROK.
- 5. Enhanced international cooperation on border measures including among Japan, China and the ROK.

*The measures described in paragraph 1 above will be implemented from 0:00 am on March 7 and remain in place for a period. However, they will not apply to those who have departed those places before their implementation and arrived in Japan after their implementation.

**The measures described in paragraph 2 to 4 above will be implemented from 0:00 am on March 9 until the last day of the month. The period can be renewed.