New measures to strengthen border measures

1. Additional designation of areas subject to the entry ban

Designating additional areas listed below* of Italy, Switzerland, and Spain, and the entire area of Iceland as areas subject to the entry ban. Banning the entry of foreigners who visited the areas within the last 14 days unless there are special circumstances.

- *Italy: Aosta Valley, Trentino-Alto Adige, Friuli-Venezia Giulia and Liguria
- *Switzerland: Canton of Ticino and Canton of Basel-Stadt
- *Spain: Autonomous Communities of Navarra, Basque Country, Madrid and La Rioja

2. Strengthened quarantine

Calling upon people arriving from the Schengen countries*, Andorra, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Egypt, Iran, Ireland, Monaco, Romania, San Marino, the United Kingdom and Vatican to wait 14 days at a location designated by the quarantine station chief and to refrain from using public transportation.

*Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

3. Visa restrictions

- (1) Suspending validity of single or multiple-entry visa issued by March 20 by Japanese Embassies or Consulates General located in the countries listed in paragraph 2 above.
- (2) Suspending visa exemption measures for the countries listed in paragraph 2 above.
- *The measures described in paragraph 1 above will be implemented from 0:00 am on March 19 (Japan Standard Time (JST)) and remain in place for a period. However, the measures will not be applied to those who have departed before their implementation and arrived in Japan after their implementation.
- **The measures described in paragraph 2 above will be applied to the passengers of aircrafts and ships which have departed those places after 0:00 am on March 21(JST), and be implemented until the last day of April. The period can be renewed.
- ***The measures described in paragraph 3 above will be implemented from 0:00 am on March 21 (JST) until the last day of April. The period can be renewed.